Hello! How can we help?

Manage user rights, groups and profiles

The Manage Users section allows the administrator to create, edit, and disable users, to manage user rights, and assign groups and profiles.

Create Users

To create a new user, navigate to Administration>Manage Users, Groups, and Profiles, then click the Users tab. Then, click Create User to display the new user form as shown below.

Populate the required fields and click Save. You can change user rights any time. Some guidelines:

  1. The Name or userid cannot be changed once it is entered. It is recommended that you use the email address of the user for their username.
  2. Enter a default password. Be sure to have the users change this to a valid, strong password right away. The application supports client-specific minimum password requirements.
  3. The full name is first name last name. This can be changed as needed.
  4. The email address must be valid or the application will not be able to send the user notifications, review requests, or other communications. The system does not validate email addresses via this form, though it will display error messages or other text when communications fail due to an invalid email address, e.g. when a user sends a request to a review participant whose email address is not valid.

Note: If your implementation includes WebSSO, the user's login and password are the same as what they enter to log into Windows, so #2 above does not apply (the fields will not be editable). 

Disable Users

When a user leaves the company or otherwise no longer needs to use the application, the administrator must manually disable his account.

To disable a user, click on her user name, then click Edit. 

Above Full Name, the Disabled field appears. 

Change the field to Yes and click Save.

Note: In the above scenario, if a new user joins the company right away to replace the person who left, the administrator must disable the old user's account and remove all her rights before creating the new user and granting him user rights. 

Note: Also in the above scenario, when the current user leaves the company, the administrator can easily transfer ownership of all her projects to the new user via User Replace. Click here for details.

User Rights

These are the current user groups and levels of access control within those groups that are included in the Inova application suite.

  1. Administrator: The application administrator can access everything in the administration module only. Note: The Administrator is not a super user and does not by default have access to any other section or feature of the application. A user who has only this privilege may not create, edit, or view any business object, nor can he see objects or documents that are restricted.
  2. ReadWrite: This user can create business objects in the system and can read and edit all non-confidential business objects.
  3. ReadOnly: A Read-Only user can read all non-confidential business objects but cannot edit them. The only information a Read-Only user can add to the system is his or her Review responses. The UI for Read-Only users will not include some buttons and functions on both Overview screens and lists, including the following: Delete, New or Create New, Edit, Report or Run Report, Upload Document, Check Out and Lock, Edit in MS Office, Archive, and Assign To. Read-Only users can view objects, customize lists, use filter and sort tools, create saved views, and export lists. They can use the Email All function from the Contacts list or from a Contacts portlet, but they cannot send emails into the system using Email Push.
  4. Executive: The Executive user has Read-Only access to all business objects, including those marked confidential. As with regular Read-Only users, this user cannot create or edit objects, and his or her UI will have the same limitations as those described above.
  5. Super User: Broadest level of access within the system - can create objects as well as view, edit & delete all objects in the module even when not specifically listed as a member of the authorization list on restricted objects.
  6. Restricted Reader: A Restricted Reader is a Readonly user with less rights. Only specific business objects can be read.
  7. Enable Import: This user can use the Import tool to bring data into the system.
  8. Enable Datasource Query: This user can query the Thomson Cortelis data base to bring records of new assets into the application.
  9. Allow To Share Contact Groups: The group that a user usually creates are always private. If the administrator allows this control, the user will be able to create shared contact groups.
  10. Satellite Application: To have access from another application.

Special Groups 

Aside from the standard rights listed above, there are special groups that users can be added to, depending upon the application's license key and how the business wants the system to be managed. 

  1. Administrator: To see the administration section on the menu.
  2. Allow to Share Contact Groups: When a users creates a contact group he can decide to share it with other users. More details in this article.
  3. Enable Search in Thomson: to select only when your company has a Thomson license to be able to automaticaly import asset from Thomson, leverage the advance search interface in the menu, etc.
  4. Enable Import: To import via excel list of contacts, companies, asssets, etc. See this article for more details.
  5. Satellie Application: for specific development only - no need to be selected.
  6. Enable Web Services: Needs to be selected to use the Outlook Addin.

Manage Groups

The Manage User Groups section of the Administration module lists groups of users by module and access level. This portlet contains and allows the administrator to update the same information as Manage Users, but by user group rather than user name (to save time).

User groups are system-wide, not object or user specific. The users groups that are included in your installation of the application correlate to the types of licenses you purchased with the application.

When you click on a user group name, the overview page will be displayed, as shown below. 

Click the Edit button to add or remove users from the group, then Save your changes. 

Manage Profiles

Profiles in the application allow to you adapt the application layout to different business groups in your company. As an example, Business Development wants their home page to feature the list of ongoing licensing opportunities, whereas Alliance Management wants the home page to focus on the list of ongoing agreements. The layout can be modified in the home page and on all business objects per these different business needs.

To create a profile, click the Profiles tab.

1. Click New Profile and name the profile.

2. In the Profile Overview, under Users, click Choose Profile Members to add users to the profile. 

profileoverview1.jpg

The page layout for each profile is managed per page or object. See this article to learn how to use Page Settings to change the layout of tabs on any page.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful